Uncategorized

Me-Time

Your child/children are asleep (or at a sitter) and you have some time to yourself…what do you do? Chores or Relax? Something for the good of the family or something for yourself? If you’re like me, I tend towards the chores and stuff that benefits the whole family. As moms, we’re used to putting other’s needs before our own, but we also need filled up. A friend of mine wrote a good blog recently about this (https://tendinghearts.blog/2017/05/28/fill-er-up/).

 

So, if we actually do take the time to do something we enjoy, what do you choose to do? I actually wrote a list of things I enjoy and/or that help me relax. So when I do get some me-time, I’m not trying to figure out what I should do. I look at the list and whatever sounds the best for that time, is what I do. I’m not going to lie: most times that I’m home for my little one’s naps, I do housework. However, my husband and I take turns having a night off. We picked Thursday as the “evening off” night. So one Thursday, I will have the evening to do as I please and the next Thursday, he will. This can be a social time like a  girls/guys night out or something as simple as reading a book at a park or hidden in a bedroom in a comfy recliner.

 

Do you need some inspiration? Below is my list of things I enjoy or find relaxing:

  • Crafting
  • Reading
  • Manicure
  • Pedicure
  • Girls night out
  • Gardening
  • Walking in nature
  • Sitting in nature
  • Yoga
  • Organizing
  • Drinking a glass of wine, Kombucha, hot tea or coffee depending on the time of day/year)
  • Soaking in bath tub
  • Taking a nap
  • Meditating
  • Listening to my alternative playlist on Spotify
  • Watching an episode of Fixxer Upper
  • Creating healthy snacks
  • Going antiquing
  • Or do a combo like: drink wine while reading a good book in nature or listen to music while crafting

 

If you have suggestions to add to this list, please comment! I’d love to hear your ideas!

 

Leave a Reply

