Recipe

Basic Pesto Recipe

My favorite thing to make with all the basil that I’ve been harvesting is PESTO! And my favorite thing to eat pesto on is pizza…I know, I know super healthy. But really pesto is good on pasta, eggs, sandwiches, meats , vegetables and much more! It’s a very versatile condiment.

If you’ve ever bought pesto in a store, you know it can be rather pricey. (I may have gone to the store intending to buy it and left without it.) So I decided to look into making it. I went back to the store with my ingredient list. I was UN-pleasantly surprised how expensive pine nuts are. However, at this point, I bit the bullet and bought them. (I just wanted to try this Pesto Pizza recipe that looked amazing….it was!) After that, I stumbled upon a pesto recipe that called for almonds instead of pine nuts, so I tried it…and liked it! Fast forward to today: I now know you can make pesto from a variety of nuts, greens and cheeses. Below I have the basic recipe laid out for you. Then you can pick and choose the greens, nuts and cheeses you’d like to try. (I also have a few tips/suggestions and that Pesto Pizza recipe link down at the bottom under “Notes” if you’re interested.) Happy experimenting!

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups greens (see options)
  • 1/2 cup nuts (see options)
  • 1/2 cup cheese (see options)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • Juice of 1 lemon, optional

 

DIRECTIONS:

Add everything except olive oil to food processor. Process for about 15-20 seconds until everything is starting to break down.

Add olive oil. Process until smooth.

Use immediately or freeze it.

 

NOTES

-Nuts: preferably unsalted. You can roast them if you want, but not necessary.

-If omitting cheese, feel free to add 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of salt since aged cheese is usually salty. (This will make it a Paleo and Whole30 friendly recipe.)

 

USES

Pesto tastes awesome on/in the following: pizza, pasta, zucchini pasta, eggs, salads, soup, grilled meats, vegetables, on sandwiches, crackers, etc. If you have any other favorites, please feel free to share! My favorite is this pesto pizza recipe: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/garden-tomato-basil-pesto-pizza.

 

Leave a Reply

