Uncategorized

Crochet

Crochet. What exactly is it? How do you do it? Is it hard?

I, Valerie, thought I would take a chance to tell you about my crocheting experiences thus far.

First of all, crocheting is different than knitting! Knitting involves two needles where crocheting uses one hook. You change the hook size or the yarn texture to get a different look or feel. You use different stitches to achieve dimension. You can make many items by learning just a few stitches! I think it is easy to do once you learn, but like anything it takes practice. The more you do it the easier it comes.

I learned how to crochet when I was just four years old! My mother is an avid crocheter and I saw her crocheting a lot during that time. I asked her to teach me and so she did. However, I didn’t do much at that age. I only learned a couple of the basic stitches which allowed me to make dishcloths and such. That was a bit boring to me after a while so I didn’t crochet for years.

I picked crocheting up again here and there as a teenager. I crocheted a bag and a queen size blanket. Still nothing too fancy.

Once I got married I took more of an interest in it again and even more so when I was expecting our first child. The rest is history. I taught myself more stitches by watching videos on you tube. It was fun finding a pattern and picking out yarn to make it. Isn’t it incredible how you can take a piece of yarn and turn it into a functional item?!

I’ve made quite a few different items by now including, blankets, slippers, bags, headbands, hats, barefoot sandals, baby shoes, scarfs, toys, and even a summer cardigan. I enjoy a challenge and the opportunity to try a variety of things.

So, that is my crochet story. Here are a few facts about my crochet items in our etsy shop.

  1. My crochet bumpers take about 10 hours to make.
  2. Each bumper (aside from the striped one) is made with only 2 pieces of yarn.
  3. Most of the afghans are made with only 5 or less different stitches.
  4. I made up the pattern for the bumpers by myself.

I hope I was able to give you some insight on what crochet is all about. Don’t forget to go check out the items in our shop!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/LittleWhaleSpoutsLLC

Here is a sneak peek of one of the blankets listed.

Pink 1

Leave a Reply

