Recipe, Uncategorized

Basic Roasted Vegetable Recipe

Getting my almost 2 year old son (& my 30-something husband) to eat vegetables can be a war sometimes. Let’s be honest: Sometimes getting myself to eat vegetables can be a struggle too. I know that they’re good for me and that I should eat more than just a spoonful at each meal. That being said, I decided I needed find other ways to prepare vegetables than just boiling them in water and throwing a few spices on top. The soggy results were never appetizing to me (or the rest of my family). So I decided to try roasting them instead. I looked into different recipes and came up with my own, which I am sharing with you today. (Grilling is another option we like too!)

I’m giving you the basic recipe today. However, feel free to also use this as a guideline and experiment by adding your own variations of herbs and spices. I’ll probably post some of my favorite spice and herb combinations on here at some point, so check back for those at a later date.

If you are already roasting vegetables and have a favorite recipe or herb/spice combo, PLEASE feel free to share! I love trying new mixtures!

 

Basic Roasted Vegetable Recipe

Ingredients

Vegetable, chopped into 1-2” cubes

Olive Oil (or oil of your choice)

Salt

Pepper

Herbs/Seasonings (optional)

 

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

2) Toss chopped vegetables in a bowl with olive oil.

3) Place parchment paper on baking sheet and pour veggies onto it.  Spread out so that there’s only one layer.

4) Sprinkle salt, pepper and any herbs/spices evenly over the vegetables.  Put sheet in the oven.

5) Halfway through the bake time, get sheet out and toss the vegetables so that they cook evenly; Return to oven.

6) Check vegetables at the earliest time listed. If vegetables are soft, you may serve them. However, my family likes to wait until they are starting to get caramelized before removing them from the oven.

Roasted Veggie Pic

 

Note: You may combine different vegetables as well and play with the times. It’s a great way to use up those leftover veggies from recipes that only called for a small amount. I just chop them and throw them all in the olive oil, add some spices and bake. So far I’ve never had a bad combo.

 

Leave a Reply

